Wisconsin Marijuana Laws
Created byВ FindLaw’s team of legal writers and editors | Last updated October 27, 2020
It seems like every day we hear about another state changing their laws on marijuana. From medical marijuana in some states to legalization and decriminalization in others, it can sometimes seem impossible to keep track of which laws apply where. The same is true for the Badger State, with Wisconsin passing its first medical marijuana bill in 2014. So where does the state stand on pot now? HereвЂ™s a quick summary of the of Wisconsin marijuana laws.
Marijuana Under Wisconsin Law
Marijuana possession and sale (and sometimes home cultivation) is legal in a growing number of states, first in Colorado and Washington. In some states, like Wisconsin, it is becoming permissible to allow the medicinal use of cannabis. While state law technically permits the use of medicinal marijuana in Wisconsin, the statute is very limited. Only use of cannabidiol in a form without a psychoactive effect is allowed, and only to treat a seizure disorder.
Wisconsin Marijuana Statutes
The main provisions of Wisconsin marijuana laws are highlighted in the following chart.
Misdemeanor, up to 6 mos. and/or fine up to $1000; Subsequent offense: class I felony
However, many cities including Appleton, Eau Claire, Green Bay, Kenosha, La Crosse, Marshfield, Milwaukee, Racine, Waukesa, and Wausau have passed ordinances making minor marijuana possession a civil violation that carries a smaller fine instead of the criminal offense stated above.
4 plants or 200 g. or less: class I felony; 200 g.-1 kg. or 4-20 plants: class H felony; 1-2.5 kg. or 20-50 plants: class G felony; 2.5-10 kg.: class F felony; over 10 kg.: class E felony; Subsequent offense or sale to minor: double penalties; Sale within 1000 ft. of school of less than 25 g. or 5 plants: mandatory 1 yr. without probation; exception for pharmacy or physician dispensing вЂњcannabidiol in a form without a psychoactive effect as treatment for a seizure disorderвЂќ
Despite some state marijuana laws permitting the use and sale of marijuana, federal law still criminalizes the possession and sale of marijuana by way of the Controlled Substance Act. (And in cases where state and federal law conflict, federal law always wins out.) However, most federal law enforcement agencies have not intruded on statesвЂ™ handling of the majority of marijuana cases. Even so, the federal government still has the power to penalize everything from simple pot possession to the manufacturing and cultivation as well as trafficking and distribution of marijuana.
Wisconsin Marijuana Laws: Related Resources
You’ve read this article, but maybe you want to continue your research. Not to worry. FindLaw has done some of the legwork for you. Click on the links below to learn more about marijuana laws.
Charged With a Drug Crime? A Defense Attorney Can Help
State marijuana laws are constantly changing, particularly in the area of marijuana legalization. If you would like to know your rights or responsibilities under WisconsinвЂ™s drug laws, or if you need help with an existing drug case, you should contact a Wisconsin drug crime attorney in your area.ВChart providing details of Wisconsin Marijuana Laws
Wisconsin Co. makes maximum penalty $1 for cannabis possession
MADISON, Wis. (WMTV) – The Rock County Board in Madison, Wisconsin, passed an ordinance change Thursday night to set the penalty for possessing 28 grams or less of cannabis to no more than a $1 fine.
While Rock Co. does not have the authority to legalize marijuana, Rock Co. Supervisor Jacob Taylor said they can minimize their participation in the enforcement of a law voters “so strongly oppose.” The county also reduced the penalty for possession of cannabis paraphernalia for the same $1 fine.
The change will only affect enforcement from the Rock County Sheriff’s Office, but the penalty is unchanged for local police departments.
Taylor proposed the change in 2018 as a response to the Marijuana Advisory Referendum where voters were “overwhelmingly” supportive of the legalization of cannabis for recreational use.The Rock County Board in Madison, Wisconsin, passed an ordinance change Thursday night to set the penalty for possessing 28 grams or less of cannabis to no more than a $1 fine. ]]>