Getting a medical marijuana card in oregon
Get the correct information.
Please choose your current state to get the most up to date information about medical cannabis.
Get your Oregon Medical Marijuana Card Online
Quick, Simple and HIPAA Compliant
Doctor’s Certificate Available Soon
Qualifying for a Medical Marijuana Card in Oregon
Once you have registered with Leafwell and been approved by one of our medical marijuana doctors online, apply to the state medical marijuana program. Receive your MMJ card and start shopping for your medical cannabis from a licensed dispensary.
Book an appointment with a certified physician
Attend your appointment – the patient is registered onto the Oregon Medical Marijuana Program (OMMP).
Get qualified for medical cannabis. The document is then printed off and signed, and a digital copy is emailed by the doctor to the patient. No hard copy of your recommendation is needed.
Quick & Convenient
Your online doctor’s consultation includes
1 Year Doctor’s Recommendation Letter if Qualified
Speak to a Certified Oregon Physician
Instant .PDF Download
Registry with the Oregon DoH
24/7 Online Verification
HIPAA Compliant – Privacy Guaranteed
Trusted By 60,000+ Patients
See what patients say about Leafwell
I have gotten three or four medical recommendations, some in person, some on line. This was the best. The process was easy to navigate, thorough and professional. Totally great.
Fast, Easy! Great customer service and very friendly and thorough. more_vert
Responsive and helpful professionals with a seamless process.
Reliable, fast, and easy process. Very pleased with my experience.
Great service! Thank you for supporting the medical marijuana community.
I was speaking to doctor, who was extremely easy to talk to, within minutes of accessing the website. Getting a download of my rec. took about the same amount of time. I’d recommend LeafWell to all seeking a medical marijuana rec.
Excellent fast service in our time of need. Staff was very helpful and attentive to our needs! Thank you
Common conditions cannabis recommended for include
- Conditions that cause persistent muscle spasms, including Multiple Sclerosis
- A Degenerative or Pervasive neurological condition, e.g. epilepsy, multiple sclerosis (MS)
- Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
- Seizure Disorders, including Epilepsy
- Severe Pain
- Severe Nausea
Got a question? As it here
Frequently Asked Questions
Medical marijuana patients may possess up to 24 ounces of usable cannabis. Recreational cannabis users can carry a maximum of 1 ounce on their person, and 8 ounces in their homes.
The caregiver must be 18 years of age or older. Designated primary caregiver is the person that has significant responsibility for managing the well-being of a person who has been diagnosed with a debilitating medical condition. Primary caregiver does not include the patient’s physician. A patient may only have one primary caregiver.
Parents or a guardian, of patients under the age of 18 years, must complete the OMMP – Declaration of Person Responsible for a Minor form and complete Part B of the Application Form as a primary caregiver. * Please note: This form must be notarized.
1998 – “The Oregon Medical Marijuana Act” Ballot 67 is approved by voters, removing penalties for the use, possession and cultivation for those in possession of a valid medical marijuana card and signed recommendation letter from a physician.
1999 – Mandated patients or appointed caregivers cultivating cannabis can only do so in one location.
2001 – Patient-physician relationship must be bona-fide.
2006 – Patients carrying above the state legal amount of cannabis can no longer argue for an “affirmative defense” of medical necessity. This means that patients can no longer argue that they’re carrying more than the state limit due to their medical condition.
2013 & 2014 – Senate Bill 1531 (SB 1531) is signed, restricting the setting up and operation of medical marijuana dispensaries.
Possession of 1 ounce or less of cannabis is not a state-level crime in Oregon.
No penalty of 8 ounces or less at home.
For non-medical patients, possession of over 1 ounce and 2 ounces is a misdemeanor, with a fine of $650.
Manufacture or cultivation for mass production is a felony, and can bring up to 5 years’ incarceration. Only those with a license can grow cannabis for commercial purposes. Only personal grows in home gardens are OK .
No fine or penalty for distributing 1 ounce or less of homegrown cannabis for no compensation. More than one ounce and up to 16 ounces, it is considered a Violation and a $2,000 fine.
There is no penalty for non-medical patients to cultivate up to 4 plants at one time. Any more than 4 and up to 8, and it’s up to 6 months’ incarceration and/or a $2,500 fine. Any amount not grown at home, grown near a school or more than 8 plants is considered a felony and will get you a prison sentences and/or a large fine.
There is no penalty for solid-, or liquid- infused concentrates at home, as long as the amount extracted is 1 ounce or less.
Marijuana is considered a Schedule II substance by the Oregon Board of Pharmacy.
A conviction of a marijuana-related offense can lead to an automatic 6 month driving suspension.
Commercial drug offenses are punished more severely.
Those with a medical marijuana card may possess up to 24 ounces of usable cannabis flower at home or on their person.
Medical marijuana patients may cultivate up to 6 mature plants and 18 immature seedlings.
State-licensed dispensaries are operational.
Caregiver program is operational. Caregivers must be aged 18 or over, and a patient may only have one caregiver.
There is no reciprocity with other states.
Degenerative or pervasive neurological condition
Positive status for HIV/AIDS
Seizures including epilepsy
Persistent muscle spasms including multiple sclerosis
Telehealth/telemedicine is available in Oregon. However, relationship must first be established between patient and physician in-person in order to qualify for a medical marijuana card.
Qualifying patients may grow up to 16 plants, 6 mature and 10 seedlings per residence. Non-medical users can grow up to 4 plants per residence.
$200. For those in receipt of food stamps or Oregon Health Plan cards, the fee is reduced to $60. For persons receiving SSI or having served in the armed forces, the fee is reduced to $20. This does not include the physician’s fee of $100.
No, Oregon does not recognize other states’ medical marijuana cards, certificates or recommendations.
Up can take up to 30 days to get an Oregon MMJ card. Usually 10 days, but sometimes longer.
You must be aged 18 years old or over in order to get an Oregon medical mariuana card for yourself. Caregivers must be 18 years old or over.
Patients must be a citizen of the United States. If you do not have an Oregon I.D. an out of state I.D., passport, or other photo I.D. with proof of residency such as a bank statement, utility bill, etc is acceptable.
The qualifying patient must have been diagnosed by a physician as having a debilitating medical condition.
Patients must obtain legitimate medical records or documentation from his/her primary care physician describing his/her diagnosis. Ensure to bring all records with them to their marijuana evaluation appointment.
The Oregon Program requires all patients to have an established, bonafide doctor/patient relationship, which in some cases may take several appointments to establish. Once the patient has been certified, the patient MUST register with the Oregon MMP Patient Registry. Registration is mandatory in order for patients to ensure protection under Oregon’s medical marijuana law.
No. Cannabis is federally illegal, so costs associated with medical marijuana qualifications and consultations are not covered by insurance companies.
Cannabinoids act as a “trojan horse”, telling cancer cells to stop growing.Get your Oregon medical marijuana card. See a licensed physician and get your doctor’s cannabis recommendation instantly with Leafwell.
Oregon Medical Marijuana Cards | OMMC Clinic
Our mission is to make getting your medical marijuana card as smooth as possible. Our licensed OMMP physician and medical staff will assist you through the process of obtaining your Oregon Medical Marijuana Card.
3 Steps to get your medical marijuana card!
Step 1. Complete the online application, you will then be directed to a medical records release form, this important step will allow us to process your application.
Step 2. Once your deposit is made and your appointment set, your records will go into an advanced review with our physician.
Step 3. Attend your scheduled appointment for the completion of your state application, then simply mail the application to the state.
- $180 Marijuana doctors visit
- $200 OMMP state filing fee
- $380 Total fees (clinic & state)
State Filing Fee Discounts
- $50 w/ OHP discount
- $60 w/ SNAP discount
- $20 w/ SSI discount
- $20 w/ Veteran discount
OMMP Card Fees
“Best Medical Marijuana Doctor in Oregon!” -MarijuanaDoctors.com
We have a crucial role in the application process to obtain a medical marijuana card in Oregon. Our OMMP Physician will certify you for the Oregon Medical Marijuana Program by confirming your qualifying condition(s). This is a necessary step in qualifying under the state guidelines. We take pride in assuring your application is complete and accurate, making it a smooth process between you and the state of Oregon.
•Accordance with Oregon.gov
OMMP regulations & guidelines
How much does it cost?
The cost to see our physician who will certify you for the program is $180. Once we complete your application you then have the state fee, which is mailed directly to the state of Oregon. The standard fee is $200 however it is reduced to only $60 if you are on food stamps or $50 for Oregon Health Plan and if you are on SSI the filing fee is reduced to $20.
Total Cost: $380
(Clinic visit $180 & OMMP Application $200)
OHP Total Cost: $230
(Clinic visit $180 & OMMP Application $50 w/ OHP Discount)
SNAP Total Cost: $240
(Clinic visit $180 & OMMP Application $60 w/ SNAP Discount)
SSI Total Cost: $200
(Clinic visit $180 & OMMP Application $20 w/ SSI Discount)
Veterans Total Cost: $200
(Clinic visit $180 & OMMP Application $20 w/ Veteran Discount)
How do I qualify for a medical marijuana card?
To qualify for an Oregon Medical Marijuana Card, you need to have a clear diagnosis of any of the qualifying conditions approved by the state for a medical marijuana card.
Oregon law requires:
•You haven been seen by a medical professional within 2 years, (unless there is a diagnosis of a chronic disease such as PTSD, glaucoma, cancer, etc…)
•You are actively seeking treatment for your condition.
•You have been seen by a medical professional that has diagnosed your condition.
Can include any of the following:
•Primary care visits
Not sure? Just ask us if it qualifies.
Any documented and diagnosed condition that causes:
Any of the following conditions:
•Degenerative Disc Disease
•Cachexia (wasting syndrome)
How long does it take to get a medical card?
We are excited to offer same day card services! This means that once you leave our office and mail your application, you will be legally protected that same day, just keep copies of your signed application and certified mail receipt. While your temporary card protects you, you do need to wait for your permanent card to visit a dispensary.Certified marijuana Doctors evaluations in Oregon: Marijuana Doctor Portland, OR. Marijuana Doctor Salem, OR. Marijuana Doctor Eugene, OR. ]]>